Optimism

linebreak

“When you think of the billions of people born throughout the history of the world, have you ever wondered why you were born at this particular time? Despite the great challenges we individually and collectively face today, I’m sure you will agree, this is a wonderful time to be alive. In the context of world history, there has never been a more exciting time to sojourn on earth. Do you suppose that you were chosen to be born for such a time as this?”

Mary Ellen Smoot, Relief Society General President
For Such a Time As This,” October 1997 General Conference

linebreak

“By having an ‘overpowering spirit of optimism’ and enthusiasm… I could decide to be positive and optimistic about the many good things in my life: my friendships, my studies, my family…Suddenly the dilemma that had seemed so overwhelming began to fade. I started to feel better about myself. I read the scriptures more. I prayed more. I liked other people more. I felt the Spirit reenter my life.”

Anne Marie Rose, young woman
Facing Trials with Optimism,” April 1996 General Conference

linebreak

“As December and the holidays approached, I knew it was going to be difficult. My dad had passed away just four months before, leaving only my mom and me at home. At the same time, I was lucky to be at a stake conference where President Hinckley made a surprise visit. He bore his testimony and expressed his love. He said: ‘Do you feel gloomy? Lift your eyes. Stand on your feet. Sing songs of Christmas. Be positive.’ These few words meant so much to me. I knew if I did my best at this hard time in my life, things would work out. What President Hinckley said did not take away my pain, but it helped me understand that I needed to be happy and help my mom and family be happy.”

Anne Prescott, young woman
He Has Given Me a Prophet,” April 1996 General Conference

linebreak

 

Leave a Reply

