Joy from Charity

Joy from Service

linebreak

“We are covenant daughters in the Lord’s kingdom, and we have the opportunity to be instruments in His hands. As we participate in the work of salvation each day in small and simple ways—watching over, strengthening, and teaching one another—we will be able to join with Ammon, who declared:

“ ‘Behold, my joy is full, yea, my heart is brim with joy, and I will rejoice in my God. Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things.’ ”

Carole M. Stephens, First Counselor, Relief Society General Presidency
We Have Great Reason to Rejoice,” October 2013 General Conference

linebreak

“I would like to invite each of you to do at least one Samaritan-like act this coming week…I promise that if you will extend yourself beyond what is easy to do, you will feel so good inside that kindness will start to become a part of your everyday life. You’ll see that benevolence can bring joy and unity to your home, your class, your ward, and your school.”

Mary N. Cook, First Counselor, Young Women General Presidency
Remember This: Kindness Begins with Me,” April 2011 General Conference

linebreak

“Are we encouraging our children to sacrifice by giving their time and resources, such as helping a lonely neighbor or befriending someone who needs it? As they concentrate on the needs of others, their own needs become less important. True joy comes from sacrificing for others.”

Carol B. Thomas, First Counselor, Young Women General Presidency
Sacrifice: An Eternal Investment,” April 2001 General Conference

linebreak

“Recently I stopped at a grocery store to quickly pick up a few things for dinner. As I turned the corner, I came face to face with an older gentleman. I smiled, as I was relieved that we hadn’t collided. He smiled and said, ‘Thank you for your smile. I needed it.’ I also needed his smile. Smile—it will make a difference for you and for others. What would life be like if we couldn’t give and receive smiles?”

Coleen K. Menlove, Primary General President
Living Happily Ever After,” April 2000 General Conference

linebreak

“As 4,200,000 women of the Church form a circle of sisters and use our talents, we can make a difference in this world. One person can make a difference. Each one of you has unique gifts. Use your gifts to serve others.

“If you are to walk in the light of the Lord, discover your individual strengths and develop them. You will find great joy as you unselfishly share all that the Lord has given you.”

Mary Ellen Smoot, Relief Society General President
Come, Let Us Walk in the Light of the Lord,” October 1998 General Conference

linebreak

“I am so grateful for the opportunity we have been given to choose between right and wrong, and I am also grateful for the opportunity to learn from our mistakes. The joy I now feel when I feel the love of Christ through my service to others and the knowledge of my worth has no comparison with my feelings of being popular in school. By now probably nobody in my junior high school remembers me, but I feel happy to know that Christ knows me and knows of my love for Him.”

Alejandra Hernandez, young woman
Draw Nearer to Christ,” April 1997 General Conference

linebreak

“An elderly widow struggled with the pain of arthritis. When she came to live with her daughter, the mother retreated into her own uncomfortable world. She had to be assisted up and down the steps as she went in and out the door.

“Hoping to give her mother a positive experience, the daughter suggested that her mother might read to a blind neighbor. Reluctantly, the suffering widow agreed.

“Moaning faintly at the effort, the widow allowed her daughter to help her down the steps. Then she hobbled up the street to make the dutiful visit.

“An hour passed. Two hours. At last, her family saw her returning, coming happily down the street. Amazingly, she came up the steps and into the house without assistance.

“‘Well,’ she told her daughter, ‘I sure did her a lot of good.’ ”

Barbara W. Winder, Relief Society General President
Finding Joy in Life”, October 1987 General Conference

linebreak

“If we have been able to be instruments in the smallest way in serving the Lord, our joy is great.”
Ruth Funk, Young Women General President
Come, Listen to a Prophet’s Voice,” October 1978 General Conference
Leave a Reply

